Home » Recipes » Homemade Laundry Detergent

Homemade Laundry Detergent

I would upload photos but, I didn’t even think of doing that.

I purchased:

1 box of Borax – 2.50

1 box of Washing Soda – 2.47

4 bars of Fels Naptha- 1.19 each = 4.80

Total: Less than 10 dollars

I grated all 4 bars of Fels Naptha with my cheese grater (hey, it’s soap why not). It took about 20 minutes and it could of been easier if I had an attachment on my food processor to grate it. Then for every bar of soap you have, add a cup of Borax and Washing Soda each.

DONE! I just made myself 75 ounces of powdered detergent. Using 1 tbsp per load, I have 150 loads worth of laundry detergent at my finger tips for TEN DOLLARS. Plus I have extra washing soda and Borax. I can get about another 4-8 cups out of each box. So essentially if I buy another 5 dollars worth of soap, bringing my total to 15 dollars, I would have 300 loads of soap ready.

While 102 loads of Tide cost 23 dollars.

If you haven’t already tried homemade laundry detergent, please please please do. It’s HE safe, it makes your clothes feel better, and cleans towels a whole lot better.

Also, I’m not extremely crunchy. I still use fabric dryer sheets.

3 thoughts on “Homemade Laundry Detergent

  1. I’ve seen this a lot. I should try it one day. Just don’t think hubby would go for it. He is so picky about his clothes. Although I’m all for the homemade cleaners.

    • Try it! My husband was really skeptical, but he loves it. He actually made a comment on when we would be getting it back. I switched to “clean and clear” soap while we were moving. Also, if you have a time release on your washer, toss some vinegar in the fabric softener area when you have towels. It will make them soft, disinfect them, and get rid of any excess soap build up.

  2. Pingback: Conserving Food, Conserving Money. | sweettreatsbycatherine

Leave a Reply

