Home » Recipes » Holy Smokes Good Granola

Holy Smokes Good Granola

If you know me, which you probably don’t, you’d know that I love to snack. I don’t like to eat meals but I could snack all freaking day. Well that’s probably how I got this big. So I made the decision to do healthy snacking. Less than 100 calorie snacks. I decided that I was missing out on health though. So I thought granola would be a great snack. But it’s so stinkin’ expensive.

So here is a economical way to do granola. If there isn’t a price next to it, it’s because I believe it should be a staple in your pantry and shouldn’t count towards the cost. No offense to you if you don’t have it, it’s that I think sugar is in 85% of the countries cabinets. You can always substitute the sugar with stevia or honey. Just test it out.

That container behind the granola is a sourdough starter, not a science experiment.

Ingredients:

  • 4/12 cups of oatmeal ($.50, I just used half of a BIG thing of oatmeal I already had)
  • 1 cup of nuts (I don’t remember the cost, but they were left over in my freezer)
  • 3 cups of craisins (2.80, it’s about half a HUGE bag that I got at Costco)
  • 1/2 cup of white suger
  • 2 tablespoons of honey (I have a huge thing of it already but you can use the cheap stuff and have leftovers)
  • 1 12 oz. bottle of maple syrup (2.80 I bought the off brand generic)
  • 2 tablespoons of cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon of vanilla

Total: 6.10

Instructions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 325 degrees
  2. Mix all your ingredients
  3. Put granola mixture into pan
  4. Bake for 25 minutes
  5. Take out and stir
  6. Bake for another 25 minutes
  7. Wait for it to cool and munch away

Oh goodness me oh my, it is so good. Once all of mine is cooled and jarred I will show you how much this makes. If you have to buy the nuts it’ll probably cost you around 9.00 but it is completely worth it and makes a lot! But you don’t have to put nuts in it, it just gives the granola an extra crunch.

My granola: 6.10 for 42 ounces

Bear Naked Granola: 4.80 for 12 ounces

This made a full oatmeal container worth. The container says 42 ounces of oatmeal fits in the container.

Also, when it comes out it will be dark brown, but still soft. Don’t let this fool you. It will become cement when it cools. So either move it to parchment paper, or put it on your cookie sheet before you start cooking.

Leave a Reply

