Home » Photography » Fat is a health problem

Fat is a health problem

News Anchor Responds to Being Called Fat

Watch that video and then read my opinion.

I think he wasn’t being a bully. Was he being polite? No. Was it his place to voice his concern? Not really. She also handled the response very well, but I believe the public “outcry” is a little unnecessary.

But, he did not call her “fat ass” or “lard butt” but instead voice concern for her weight. Fat is a health risk. Simple as that. To me there’s nothing different from being fat and smoking. Other than the fact you can’t avoid food.

When you over eat you are putting your body under strain and could cause diabetes, high blood pressure, heart disease, you could even become infertile. Our society needs to stop standing up for people who go “don’t pick on me I’m so fat” and then turn around and eat 40 chicken nuggets.

It’s not okay for people to be fat, it’s not okay for people to allow their children to be fat. Letting your child be fat IS child abuse. I’m not saying “oh your infant is chunky put him on a treadmill”. I am saying that if you feed your child cheese puffs for breakfast that you are abusing your child. My kids walk to school everyday if it’s not raining. They get a sugar drink about 3-4 times a week. My daughter is a part of ballet. My son runs EVERYWHERE. I won’t allow them to be fat, I am responsible for them until they are 18. At that time they can choose to be fat. Until then they will be in sports and I will cook them well balanced meals.

If you don’t like being fat, then change it. If you don’t want your child to be fat, look at the calories you are giving them. They shouldn’t get 2,000 calories a day. I am proactively preventing my children from being overweight like I am.

If you are okay with being fat, and I was for the past 4 years, then own it. Wear clothes that fit your body. Show off your curves. Be proud of those pounds because you earned them. You enjoyed every bite of food that you took. I did.

Tons of people can and have lost weight. It’s not easy to make a change, but it easy to hide behind food. I have been on the up and down roller coaster of loosing weight. I cried when I ran my first hill on Sunday because I realized what I had done to my body. I allowed for me to gain back those 70 pounds I worked so hard to lose.

I am not proud or shameful about what I have done. I am saddened that it has come to this. I am sad that I may not be able to have kids because of my weight gain. I am proud that I overcame an eating disorder when I was younger and that now I am loosing weight the healthy way. Well healthier, I don’t think energy drinks and coffee really fit into a diet.

Don’t think I’m saying boycott fat people for TV, but if you are a public figure, someone is going to call you fat. If you don’t like it, lose weight, or get out of the spotlight. We also have an issue of over analyzing a celebrities weight. But, again, if you don’t like it then get out. Movie stars, television personalities, even politicians know that with fame there comes a public criticism.

I know a lot of people won’t like this, and I know a lot of people are going to say “it’s not nice to call me fat”. It’s mean if someone is picking on you, but if it’s a descriptive word, it’s not mean. If there is someone that tells you “your a fat piece of shit and you mean nothing to this world, go jump off a bridge” THAT IS BULLYING. If someone sends you a private email stating that your weight is a concern, that is NOT bullying. That is someone using a description.

I am fat. I have a stomach. I am not sloppy or lazy or a lard ass. I snack too much and don’t exercise enough. I am changing that so that one day I can say “I am healthy”.

Leave a Reply

