Home » Photography » Our Earth Day

Our Earth Day

Today was so much fun. I woke up an extra hour early and made homemade biscuits with jelly we got at an Amish farm store. And of course, extra butter for the kids. I even whipped up scrambled eggs before my son had to go to school.

Also while we were at the Amish farm store, the roommate picked up some baby back ribs. So I made my own special rub. photo 1 (3)

Yeah that’s right. Not even our salsa jars are safe from me saving them and making them into something else. This could be seen as me saving mother earth and reusing things. Or you can call me cheap because I don’t want to spend money on jars. Or like my husband says, “You have a jar obsession”.

I learned how to turn on my husbands really expensive grill and then I made the BEST ribs in the world. I also made some good burgers, but the ribs were out of this world.

photo 4 (1)

Maybe I should have put a disclaimer for all those vegetarians out there. Ooops. But doesn’t that look scrumptious? Well it was. They were fall off the bone tender when it finally came time. I cooked them for 3 1/2 hours on low indirect heat, checking on them every hour adding more dry rub until the last 30 minutes and adding wet sauce. The burgers had cheese, Worcestershire, chili powder, and some salt. Topped that with half a slice of Swiss cheese and it was done.

I wanted to teach the kids about planting life and how growing herbs would help our family, and save us money. So we planted and indoor herb garden.

photo 1 (2)

Yeah you can say that I am an awesome mom. I used old spaghetti sauce jars, put a layer of marbles down, then put in dirt and planted out seeds. Put them next to a window and hopefully let the plant grow and save momma some money at the store. I have big dreams in life.

photo 3 (2)

Look at that precious face. God. I am a lucky woman to be blessed with such great children. I mean some days I want to strangle myself with how much stress I’m under, but then photos like these remind me why I’m a mom. I am so so so lucky.

And a few more photos with a recipe.

Dirt Cups

Ingredients:

2 boxes of chocolate jello

1 cool whip tub

A thing of Oreos

Gummy Worms

Steps:

1. Prepare jello

2. Crush Oreo’s to the consistency of “dirt”. You can do this in a food processor, but that’s too fancy for me.

3. Mix the jello and cool whip together

4. Alternate layers of crushed oreos, jello mix, and gummy worms.

5. ENJOY!

Top with green dyed coconut flakes or like me green left over Peeps that I cut up.

photo 3 (3)

Aren’t they adorable?

photo 5 (1)

Hope you have a great Earth Day!

Leave a Reply

