Home » Parenting » How to grocery shop with small children

How to grocery shop with small children

I’ve discussed this before here.

On the first of the month (or second) I always go on a BIG grocery shopping list. Usually my basket is overflowing with stuff and that’s because I only go grocery shopping once a month. Well that’s a lie. I do 1 big trip a month and then 1 or 2 little trips. Sometimes I do 4 little trips but that’s for fresh fruit and I usually only go when my sons in school and I only have 1 child with me.

Wanna know how I do it?

Plan out a food Calender and have some of those ingredients over lap.

If you like spaghetti, why not do some lasagna with it? You will over lap ingredients and save some money. Also purchasing your food from “scratch” will not only let you save money but will also let you be flexible with your food choices. I purchased HUGE tomato sauce cans that I use for spaghetti sauce AND enchilada sauce. You will have shelves full of spices, the money saving aspect is really noticeable. Plus with my kids I can make it as spicy or tame as I want to make it. I’m not held down by what the store offers.

FoodCalenderMay

As you can see I only plan out lunches for the weekend. Whenever there will be more than 1 adult in the house, I plan a lunch. I am fine and the kids are too with tuna, mac & cheese, chicken nuggets, leftovers, etc. Kids foods are staples in my house. They are both allowed to pick 1 thing a month that they want to try. Last month it was Mickey Mouse shaped chicken nuggets and organic carrot/orange juice.

See how my calender lapses over. A lot of chicken, chili can be used for Frito pies or chili cheese dogs.

After Week 2 I will need to go to the store and buy more tortillas, Doritos, hamburger buns, and steaks for Saturday. Plus whatever fresh fruit we need. That’s it. This month I’ll spend about 300 dollars for my first trip and maybe another 150 for the rest of the month. So 450 dollars for 3 adults and 2 kids, with fresh fruit and healthy meals. Most of those meals up there other than Frito pie and chili dogs, are under 500 calorie dinners. I don’t know how many calories are in the Frito pie.

With the chicken on Thursday, I pair white rice with it.

That’s all I do. I plan, I shop, and I cook. I spend less than 100 dollars per person. I cook healthy meals for my family. And I NEVER worry about if I’m going to run out of food anymore.

Leave a Reply

