Home » Recipes » Skinny Slow Cooker Tortilla Soup

Skinny Slow Cooker Tortilla Soup

I made this in hopes it would reconnect me with my great state of Texas. I miss the warm comfort of my home state. New Jersey just isn’t cutting it on Mexican food. Sorry.

So this recipe without cheese is less than 182 calories per serving! And that includes the chips. I know. This could be my “stuff myself so full and won’t go over calorie” binge meal. If you like sour cream, substitute greek yogurt instead. And if you like cheese, dabble lightly.

I make this 2 or three nights after taco night and use leftover corn tortillas and chicken. So you don’t have to be exact. For a family of 3 adults and 2 kids, 3 chicken breast is more than enough for this recipe. My husband said he would rather the chicken be chopped than shredded. But he doesn’t cook so he’ll deal with what I give him.

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound shredded, cooked chicken
  • 1 (14,5 ounce) can diced petite tomatoes
  • 1 (10 ounce) can enchilada sauce
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 (4 ounce) can chopped green chile peppers
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced (I used the kind that is in my fridge pre-minced)
  • 2 (14.5 ounce) can chicken broth (or 4 bullion cubes with 4 cups of water)
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 can of corn
  • 6 corn tortillas

1. Add all the ingredients EXCEPT the tortillas and vegetable oil. It should look a little watery. This isn’t a hearty soup, but more of a broth like soup. If you like it spicier add more chili powder and cumin, or hold back a bit if you lean the other way. If you want a heartier soup, only add 1 can of chicken broth. Just make sure you have enough water in there to cover the coked chicken up.

2. Cook on low 6-8 hours, or on high for 4. I have one of those slow cookers with a timer. See here. It was a pretty penny to get, but I really appreciate how easy a slow cooker meal is. No matter how busy I get through the day, I KNOW there is a healthy dinner waiting at the house.

3.  About 15 minutes before you’re ready to eat, preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

4. Cut the tortillas into wedges, like a pizza or into strips. I don’t know how fancy you like your soup.

5. Bake for 4-6 minutes per side. When you decide to flip them, add a little salt for flavor. I usually use garlic salt for an extra kick.

6. Ladle your soup and top with chips, greek yogurt instead of sour cream, or even treat yourself to some avocado slices on top and enjoy yourself.

This meal is really simple and something good tasting when you come home from work. This isn’t a staple in my house because the boys like red meat, but when I need to use up leftovers before they go bad, this is my go to.

What I need from whomever is reading this. Do you have a good recipe for mashed cauliflower? 

I’ve been wanting a recipe to try since they are a healthy version of mashed potatoes, but I’m afraid that I will try to make something like this and completely hate it. One, I don’t want to waste my time and money. Secondly, I don’t want to cross something off my list that might be perfect to try. So give me your best “skinny” recipe.

Leave a Reply

