Home » Fitness » My 5K Inspiration

My 5K Inspiration

I’ve fallen off the wagon. I mean the wagon has left me on the side of the road, and is miles down the road. But reality comes at the most inopportune times. Am I right?

 

Well Sunday I had a 5K that I had trained for 3 times in the last month for. See where this is going? I wasn’t going to flake out though. I mean I won the entrance to the race, so I wasn’t going to loose out on any money. But I couldn’t give up on myself. I woke up Saturday and realized that these last 10 days that’s just what I had done. Given up on myself and my dreams of being healthy. Heck. Right now while I’m writing this I know that I’ve eaten chips and a hot dog for lunch. Not exactly living the healthy life if you know what I mean. But this Sunday I did something I didn’t think I could do. I finished my “Color Me Rad” race in less than 47 minutes. I don’t know the exact time because we didn’t exactly run it completely. I mean we ran more.

I ran with a lot of people from my work, plus their friends. We ran BACK AROUND for those who couldn’t keep up, we waited for those who needed extra time, and we did it as a group. I was one of those people they had to wait on. But they cheered me on during the race. I didn’t feel like anyone was slowing anyone else down. For once I felt apart of the group. That and my son was running with me. He was running LAPS around people. I mean that kid would have ran the whole thing if I had let him.

While talking to him during the race, I asked him if he felt fine. He stated that his ribs hurt but that didn’t matter because he wanted to run.

ATTENTION PEOPLE:

My six year old just gave us the biggest secret to running. “Run through it cause you want to”. I don’t know why you want to run. You want to be healthy. You want to train for a 5K. You want to look good in that swimsuit this year. But “Run through it cause you want to”. A six year old put his mind over his body and was a BEAST. You can be that beast too. Just when you want to stop, run through.

And here are some phone dumps.

His shirt read "6 Years Old, 2nd 5K"

His shirt read “6 Years Old, 2nd 5K”

After we ran. It was a BIT messy

After we ran. It was a BIT messy

My daughter stood in the rain and held the sign for me  the entire time

My daughter stood in the rain and held the sign for me the entire time

"Jersey Strong" with our colored boogies

“Jersey Strong” with our colored boogies

We ran with these girls and the people in the blue shirts. But we didn't all fit

We ran with these girls and the people in the blue shirts. But we didn’t all fit

Apparently, the run turned my hair into Dolly Parton

Apparently, the run turned my hair into Dolly Parton

Before and After

Before and After

 

 

I hope that tonight I’ll do better eating. I hope that tomorrow I will do better than today and etc. I can’t be mad at myself for ever. I need to forgive my eating mistakes, stop trying to say “it’s okay to binge during period week” and just move on.

Leave a Reply

